Lauréats des Prix de 2004 pour contribution exceptionnelle

Prix Plaidoyer – Jan Lutke

Proposée par Pacific Community Resources Society (C.-B.)

Jan Lutke est l’une des grandes défenseures des enfants, des jeunes et des adultes touchés par l’Ensemble des troubles causés par l’alcoolisation foetale (ETCAF).

Le leadership de Jan a placé l’ETCAF dans le programme « politique » à l’échelle locale, provinciale et nationale. Son travail a influé directement sur des changements notables au niveau de la sensibilisation du public, la politique gouvernementale et la pratique. La défense des intérêts et les contributions de Jan l’ont amenée à assumer une multitude de fonctions et de rôles, y compris celui de coprésidente du comité consultatif national sur l’ETCAF auprès de Santé Canada, formatrice, conférencière principale, écrivain et activiste auprès des médias.

Jan et son époux, Lloyd, sont les parents de 23 enfants : 2 enfants biologiques, 5 enfants en placement familial permanent et 16 enfants adoptés en placement familial. Plus de la moitié de leurs enfants ont reçu un diagnostic d’ETCAF.

Pour décrire Jan Lutke, l’organisation qui a présenté sa candidature et ses partisans ont utilisé des épithètes comme très dévouée, brillante, sage, passionnée et éloquente.

 

Services aux enfants – Susan Silva

Proposée par les Centres de la jeunesse et de la famille Batshaw (QC)

Susan Silva est éducatrice auprès du programme « Héberger pour adopter » des Centres de la jeunesse et de la famille Batshaw. Parmi ses responsabilités, citons son travail auprès des enfants en famille d’accueil et de leurs prestateurs de soins dans le but d’assurer la permanence grâce à l’adoption.

Susan possède un talent inné pour susciter la participation des enfants et des familles pendant ses interventions et elle est reconnue pour apporter une touche humoristique et conviviale à son travail. Sa recherche de l’excellence dans sa pratique ne consiste pas à être reconnue mais plutôt à fournir les meilleurs services possibles à ses clients. Elle est décidée à aider les enfants aux prises avec de graves problèmes et à leur trouver des foyers chaleureux et permanents.

Une des anciennes clientes de Susan parle de son fils adoptif dans sa lettre : « Sue nous a tendu la main avec fermeté et chaleur dans nos moments les plus difficiles. Elle nous a montré que nous pouvions nous en sortir plus forts et plus unis en bout de ligne. »    

 

Services communautaires par un bénévole – Monique Morand

Proposée par Centre jeunesse de Montréal – Institut universitaire

Après quarante ans de travail auprès d’adolescents en difficulté, principalement au Centre Rose- Virginie-Pelletier, Monique Morand continue à faire du bénévolat comme gestionnaire à la Fondation Centre jeunesse de Montréal, en plus de fournir du transport bénévole aux enfants.

Par son engagement et son dévouement au travail, Monique a amélioré la vie d’un grand nombre de jeunes femmes en difficulté. Son message d’amour et d’espoir leur a permis de développer un sentiment de succès et d’accomplissement. En encourageant les adolescents à faire du bénévolat, elle leur a inculqué du coup un esprit altruiste et permis de faire un investissement positif dans leur avenir.

À titre de membre fondateur de la Fondation Centre jeunesse de Montréal, Monique a joué un rôle important comme médiatrice et membre du conseil d’administration.

 

Parent de famille d’accueil – Bertolette Démosthène

Proposée par le Centre jeunesse de Montréal – Institut universitaire

Bertolette Démosthène, parent de famille d’accueil depuis 1991, a accueilli soixante-deux enfants avec amour dans son foyer.

Comme parent de famille d’accueil, Bertolette connaît l’importance de faire partie d’une équipe. Elle participe à tous les aspects de la vie des enfants à sa charge – éducation, trouver un appartement, collaborer avec son travailleur social et d’autres professionnels du milieu. Au jour le jour, elle émule la confiance en soi et aide les enfants à se sentir bien dans leur peau. Bertolette établit un plan de travail pour chaque enfant et adolescent qu’elle accueille pour l’aider à atteindre son plein potentiel.

En plus d’être parent de famille d’accueil, Bertolette a contribué à l’élaboration de publications pour aider les parents de famille d’accueil, participe à un groupe de soutien des familles d’accueil et défend la cause des enfants vulnérables dans la communauté haïtienne.

Bertolette, une Canadienne qui a immigré d’Haïti en 1986, vit actuellement à Montréal avec sa fille.

 

Recherche et évaluation - Nico Trocmé, Ph.D.

Proposé par la Société de soutien à l’enfance et à la famille des Premières nations du Canada

Depuis plus de dix ans, la recherche de Nico Trocmé, Ph.D., dans le domaine de la protection et du bien-être des enfants jouit d’une reconnaissance nationale et internationaoutre reconnu pour l’excellence et le caractère novateur de ses travaux.

Dr Trocmé a dirigé une équipe de recherche qui a mené la première étude d’incidence canadienne des cas déclarés de violence et de négligence envers les enfants. Grâce à ce travail et en collaboration avec la Société de soutien à l’enfant et à la famille des Premières nations du Canada, Dr. Trocmé a publié cinq rapports de recherche basés sur les données autochtones ECI qui ont donné une idée des facteurs résultant en une surreprésentation considérable des enfants autochtones dans les services de prise en charge.

Outre ses projets de recherche, Dr. Trocmé a joué un rôle actif dans l’encadrement et la supervision de candidats au doctorat, intéressés par la recherche en protection et en bien-être de l’enfance.

Dr Trocmé, Ph.D., est le directeur du Centre d’excellence pour le bien-être et la protection des enfants, et le directeur du Centre for Research on Children and their Families, École de travail social, Université McGill.

 

Recherche et évaluation - Centre for Children Committing Offences/Institut pour l’étude du développement de l’enfant

Proposé par la Faculté de travail social, Université de Toronto

Cette organisation communautaire possède une expérience exhaustive auprès des enfants vulnérables et de leurs familles. Au cours des 30 dernières années, elle a établi une approche globale reconnue à l’échelle internationale pour travailler auprès des enfants, des familles et de leurs communautés pour empêcher les jeunes enfants ayant un comportement agressif et destructif d’avoir des problèmes avec la justice.

L’approche à la recherche et à l’évaluation adoptée au Centre encourage le respect de la diversité des idées et vise à trouver des solutions aux vrais problèmes.

Les travaux de recherche du Centre ont eu un impact positif sur le bien-être des enfants au Canada et ailleurs. La recherche a démontré à tous les niveaux les répercussions positives du programme et a suscité des changements dans la prestation de services au profit des enfants et des familles.

 

Leadership jeunesse – Jessica McFarlane

Proposée par Saskatchewan Children’s Advocate Office

Jessica oeuvre auprès du Saskatchewan Children’s Advocate Office depuis cinq ans à titre d’un des membres originaux de la délégation provinciale des jeunes (PYD). La PYD a aidé le bureau du protecteur des enfants à créer un lien direct aux voix et exdéfend avec passion la cause des jeunes pris en charge.

En outre, Jessica a participé activement à la création, à la coordination et au succès du Youth in Care and Custody Network (SYICCN) à Regina. Elle est présidente du SYICCN et du conseil d’administration.

Jessica représente un exemple positif pour ses collègues et tous les jeunes pris en charge ou non. Sa contribution aux exposés destinés aux hauts fonctionnaires, aux travailleurs sociaux, aux jeunes et autres les a sensibilisés à l’importance d’écouter les différentes voix des jeunes de sa province.

Jessica fréquente l’université et se prépare à entrer à la faculté de droit. Elle est mère d’une fillette de quatorze mois.  

 

Faire un don maintenant par CanadaHelps.org

2004 CWLC Achievement Award Recipients

Advocacy - Jan Lutke

Nominated by Pacific Community Resources Society (BC)

Jan Lutke is one of Canada’s pre-eminent advocates on behalf of children, youth and adults affected by Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder (FASD).

Jan’s leadership has put FASD on the “political” map – locally, provincially and nationally. Her advocacy has directly led to significant changes in public awareness, public policy and practice. Jan’s advocacy work and contributions have involved taking on a wide range of roles, including: Co-chair of the National Advisory Committee on FASD to Health Canada, trainer and keynote speaker, writer and media activist.

Jan and her husband, Lloyd, are parents to 23 children: 2 by birth, 5 in permanent foster placement and 16 adopted from foster care. Over half of their children have been diagnosed with FASD.

Some of the words used to describe Jan Lutke by her nominator and supporters are: dedicated, brilliant, extraordinary dedication, wisdom, passionate and eloquent.

 

Children’s Service - Susan Silva

Nominated by Batshaw Youth and Family Centres (QC)

Susan Silva is an educator in the Foster to Adopt Program with Batshaw Youth and Family Centres. Her responsibilities include working with children in foster homes and their caregivers towards the goal of permanency through adoption.

Susan has an innate talent of engaging children and families during her interventions with them and is known for bringing a humorous and hands-on approach to her work. She is constantly looking for new material and innovative approaches to support her work. Her pursuit of excellence in her practice is not about recognition but rather it is about providing the best service possible for her clients. She is committed to helping children with severe difficulties obtain and maintain loving and permanent homes.

One of Susan’s former clients, when speaking about her foster son, writes: “Sue held out a firm and caring hand to us in our most troubled moments. She showed us how we could work through them and come out stronger and closer at the other end.”

Susan Silva receiving her award

 

Community Service by a Volunteer – Monique Morand

Nominated by Centre jeunesse de Montréal – Institut universitaire

After a forty year career working with troubled teens, mainly at the Rose-Virginie-Pelletier Centre, Monique Morand continues to volunteer as an administrator for the Fondation Centre jeunesse de Montréal and provide volunteer transportation for children.

Monique’s commitment and devotion to her work has improved the lives of many young women by helping them through difficult times. With a message of love and hope, she has helped these young women develop a sense of success and accomplishment. By encouraging teens to become involved in volunteer work she had given them a sense of giving and positive investment in their future.

As a founding member of the Fondation Centre jeunesse de Montréal, Monique has played an important role as a mediator and board member.

 

Foster Parent – Bertolette Démosthène

Nominated by Centre jeunesse de Montréal – Institut universitaire

Bertolette Démosthène has been fostering children since 1991. In that time, Bertolette has opened her heart and her home to sixty-two children.

As a foster parent, Bertolette realizes the importance of being a part of a team. She participates in all aspects of the lives of the children in her care - from their education, to finding an apartment, to working with their social worker and other care professionals. In her day-to-day work, she models confidence and helps the children to feel good about themselves. With each child and young person that comes into her care, Bertolette sets up a work plan to support them in reaching their full potential.

As well as being a foster parent, Bertolette has participated in the development of publications to assist foster parents, has been a member of a support group for other foster families and advocates within the Haitian community on behalf of vulnerable children.

Bertolette is a Canadian citizen who immigrated to Canada from Haiti in 1986. She currently lives in Montreal with her daughter.

 

Research and Evaluation - Dr. Nico Trocmé

Nominated by the First Nations Child and Family Caring Society

For over a decade, Dr. Nico Trocmé’s research in the child welfare field has garnered national and international recognition, and he has a well-recognized and established track record of innovation and excellence.

Dr. Trocmé led the research team that conducted Canada’s first-ever national incidence study on reported child abuse and neglect. Through this work, and in conjunction with the First Nations Child and Family Caring Society, Dr. Trocmé published five research papers based on the CIS Aboriginal data set that provided the first indications of the factors that result in such a significant over representation of Aboriginal children in care.

In addition to his research initiatives, Dr. Trocmé has been actively involved in mentoring and supervising doctoral students interested in child welfare research.

Dr. Trocmé is Director, Centre of Excellence for Child Welfare and the Director for the Centre for Research on Children and their Families, School of Social Work, McGill University.

Photo of Nico Trocme receiving his award   2004 Research and Evaluation Achievement Award presented to Nico Trocmé (on left), with Michael Udy-CWLC President, Cindy Blackstock and Manny Batshaw.

 

Research and Evaluation – Centre for Children Committing Offences/Child Development Institute

Nominated by the Faculty of Social Work, University of Toronto

This community-based organization has extensive experience serving vulnerable children and their families. Over the past 30 years it has developed an internationally recognized, comprehensive approach to working with children, families and their communities to prevent young children with aggressive and destructive behaviours from coming into conflict with the law.

The approach behind the research and evaluation activities at the Centre encourages respect for diversity in ideas and is based on developing solutions to real-world problems.

The research activities of the Centre have had a positive impact on the welfare of children in Canada and elsewhere. At all levels this research has demonstrated positive program effects and has produced changes in service delivery that have benefited children and families.

 

Youth Leadership – Jessica McFarlane

Nominated by Saskatchewan Children’s Advocate Office

Jessica has been involved with the Saskatchewan Children’s Advocate Office for five years as one of the original members of the Provincial Youth Delegation (PYD). The PYD assisted the Children’s Advocate by providing a direct link to the voices and experiences of young people. Jessica has been a passionate voice for youth in care.

As well, Jessica was active in the development, coordination and success of the Youth in Care and Custody Network (SYICCN) in Regina. For the past several years she has held the position of President of the SYICCN and Board chair.

Jessica is a positive role model to her colleagues and all young people, both in and out of care. Her involvement in presentations to senior government officials, social workers, young people and others has helped to raise awareness regarding the importance of listening to the diverse voices of young people in her home province.

Jessica is currently attending university with the goal of entering the College of Law and is the mother of a fourteen-month-old daughter.

Photo of Jessica McFarlane receiving her award   From left to right are John Brand, Saskatchewan Children’s Advocate Office, Emily McFarlane, Jessica McFarlane, Geoff Pawson, CWLC Past President.

 

 

Donate Now

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!